TABLE OF CONTENTS
Is weed legal in Missouri? Yes, weed is legal for medical use, but recreational use is illegal. Unfortunately, dispensaries aren’t open yet. They’re set to open in late summer 2020. In preparation, our guide gets you ready for the launch of the state’s legal cannabis industry.
Is Adult-Use Cannabis Legal in Missouri?
Adult-use cannabis is not legal in Missouri but has been partially decriminalized.
In 2014, Missouri lawmakers approved a bill to decriminalize possession. Possession of 10 grams or less of cannabis is now punishable by a fine only. Despite this change, marijuana possession of any kind is still a misdemeanor. Possession of more than 10 grams is punishable by jail time.
The bill also lowered penalties for the sale and cultivation of cannabis. Additionally, the bill removed the ban on probation or parole for third-time convictions.
Municipal reforms across the state have also lowered possession limits.
- In 2004, Columbia decriminalized possession of up to 35 grams. The non-criminal offense is punishable by a fine of up to $250.
- In 2012, Springfield reduced the penalty for possession of up to an ounce and a quarter. Possession is punishable by a fine of up to $150.
- In 2013, St. Louis decided to handle possession cases of less than 35 grams like a traffic ticket. In 2018, the city announced it would not prosecute cases involving 100 grams of marijuana or less.
- In 2017, Kansas City decriminalized up to 35 grams of cannabis with no fine.
Previous convictions for possession does not disqualify you from getting a medical card in Missouri.
Is Medical Cannabis Legal in Missouri?
Medical cannabis is legal in the state. Missouri residents approved Amendment 2 to legalize the medical use of marijuana. You can apply for a card if you are over the age of 18. Parents and caregivers can apply for a card for qualifying minors.
What about home cultivation of cannabis? Patient marijuana cultivators must get a separate cultivation card for $100 a year. Patient cannabis cultivators can grow:
- Up to six flowering marijuana plants
- Six male (non-flowering) marijuana plants
- Six cloned marijuana plants
A home-grow can be indoors or outdoors, but must be “enclosed” and “locked.” Check Missouri’s cannabis laws for counts as enclosed and locked.
Cannabis Purchasing Limits in Missouri
Qualified patients can buy up to four ounces of marijuana per month. Patients can also buy up to eight grams of concentrates at a time.
Caregivers Laws in Missouri
Eligible patients can choose a caregiver to help them buy cannabis. Patients can assign up to two caregivers. Caregivers can assist up to three patients. Caregivers must also apply for a medical marijuana card in Missouri.
When Will Dispensaries Open in Missouri?
Missouri’s Department of Health has approved 192 dispensary licenses. The department has approved 24 businesses per congressional district. Dispensaries will likely open until late summer 2020. When dispensaries open, Missouri residents will be able to buy:
How to Get a Medical Cannabis Card in Missouri
Missouri dispensaries are still not open yet. Regardless, you can still apply for a medical cannabis card. If you want to apply, visit the MDHSS website or visit a marijuana clinic in person.
Before applying, you’ll need to get a doctor’s recommendation. After receiving the recommendation, you have 30 days to apply for a card. You can apply to become a patient, caregiver, or patient grower.
Here’s what you’ll need to apply:
- Basic personal/contact information
- Physician certification form
- Valid photo ID
- Proof of residency
- Email address
- Nonrefundable $25 application fee
- Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment
- Chronic conditions that can cause severe, persistent pain or muscle spasms including:
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other debilitating psychiatric disorders
- A chronic condition treated with a prescription medication that could lead to dependence
- A terminal illness
- Any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including:
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Sickle cell anemia
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Wasting syndrome
Is Hemp and CBD Legal in Missouri?
In 2014, Missouri lawmakers created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). The law allowed patients with intractable epilepsy to buy low-THC hemp extract. Also, it allowed the Department of Agriculture to grow hemp for research purposes.
Epilepsy symptoms must not respond to at least three treatment options. The bill only allowed hemp extracts that contained at least 5 percent CBD and no more than 0.3 percent THC.
Missouri Cannabis College
Do you want to learn how to grow your own weed? While dispensaries prepare to open, you can learn how to grow your own supply. CTU’s online marijuana education courses can help people of all skill levels. Sign up today and begin a cannabis career with a Missouri marijuana job.