TABLE OF CONTENTS
Is weed legal in New Hampshire? Weed is only legal for medicinal purposes in New Hampshire. Recreational use is illegal, but possession of up to three-quarters of an ounce of cannabis is decriminalized.
History of Marijuana Laws in New Hampshire
New Hampshire’s former Governor Maggie Hassan signed a bill into law in July 2013 allowing the use of medical marijuana for patients with chronic and debilitating diseases.
In 2014, the New Hampshire legislature came close to passing a recreational marijuana bill based on Colorado’s Amendment 64.
In 2017, New Hampshire decriminalized marijuana. First and second-time offenders would be charged with a $100 fine or $300 for a third offense. Four offenses within three years would land users with a misdemeanor charge.
New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws
Under New Hampshire's medical marijuana law, patients with one or more of the qualifying medical conditions are allowed to use medical marijuana with a doctor's recommendation. Patients are allowed to possess up to two ounces of marijuana. Home growing of marijuana is not allowed.
Under the law, out-of-state patients may not visit or buy from New Hampshire dispensaries. Reciprocity laws in the state, however, allow a patient to possess medical marijuana if they have entered the state with it.
Here's a list of the qualifying medical conditions in New Hampshire:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
- Chronic pain
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn's disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Elevated intraocular pressure
- Hepatitis C
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Parkinson's disease
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe pain that has not responded to medication
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Traumatic brain injury
- Wasting syndrome
- Opioid use disorder
How to Become a New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Patient
In order to qualify to become a New Hampshire medical marijuana patient, you need to be over 18 years of age. Minors under 18 can apply with the help of a parent or legal guardian. Patients must also be a New Hampshire resident.
As of November 2019, patients are no longer required to have a three-month provider-patient relationship. Currently, medical providers who do not have a three-month provider-patient relationship with patients can recommend medical marijuana.
Patients are no longer required to submit a photograph with their application. All registry cards printed after November 2019 will not contain a photo of the patient for the caregiver. Patients will still be required to show some form of photo ID at alternative treatment centers.
If you need help with your medical use of marijuana, you may designate someone to be your caregiver on the application. You can designate only one caregiver at a time. Caregivers must submit a separate designated caregiver application and a $50 fee.
Caregivers must be at least 21 years old and must never have been convicted of a felony. They will undergo state and federal criminal background checks.
Application materials can be sent to the following mailing address:
NH Department of Health & Human Services
Therapeutic Cannabis Program
29 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Patients must obtain a medical marijuana recommendation from a licensed physician. With the recommendation in hand, patients can submit their patient application form and provide an application fee of $50. A medical marijuana card in New Hampshire is valid for one year.
Application processing can take up to three weeks. The program will approve or deny an application within 15 days of receipt and send out the registry card within five days after approval.
Learn how to cash in on the Green Rush!
Where to Buy Cannabis in New Hampshire
If you're a New Hampshire resident and have one or more of the qualifying medical conditions, you can apply for a card and purchase medicine from a licensed medical marijuana dispensary.
You can purchase medical marijuana from an alternative treatment center, also known as a medical dispensary, or ask your designated caregiver to obtain medicine for you. Currently, there are five alternative treatment centers operating in the state.
Patients can find dispensaries in Lebanon, Plymouth, Dover, Conway, and Merrimack. Patients are allowed to buy from any dispensary but may only buy from one at a time. They will list their chosen ATC on their patient application form. Patients can change their information by completing a change of information/lost card form.
Currently, there are only five dispensary medical patients can buy from. Here are the alternative treatment centers in New Hampshire.
Prime Alternative Treatment Centers of NH, Inc.
380 Daniel Webster Highway, Unit C, Merrimack, NH 03054
568 Tenney Mountain Highway, Plymouth, NH 03264*
234 White Mountain Highway, Conway, NH 03818*
*Sanctuary ATC Locations are considered one. Patients may select Sanctuary ATC on their patient application form and be able to visit the Plymouth and Conway locations.
Temescal Wellness, Inc.
367 Route 120, Unit E-2, Lebanon, NH 03766*
There are over 300,000 jobs in the cannabis industry. CTU trained me for one of them!
- Johanna Rose
Makes $24.50 @ THC +
26 Crosby Road, Units 11-12, Dover, NH, 03820*
*Temescal Wellness locations are considered separate locations on the patient application form.
New Hampshire Cannabis College
Interested in learning how to get a medical card in New Hampshire, use cannabis for therapeutic relief, and find a job in the marijuana industry?
CTU's online marijuana certification provides you with the most up-to-date information about cannabis laws, cannabis medicine, cannabis careers, and many more essential cannabis topics.
Sign up today!