TABLE OF CONTENTS
Oklahoma is home to some of the most relaxed medical cannabis laws in the nation despite being a conservative state.
While Oklahoma’s qualifying medical cannabis patients can grow cannabis for personal use at home, there are some state and local limitations you should know before you grow. Here are the latest Oklahoma outdoor grow laws for cannabis.
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Laws: Overview
Before growing medical cannabis at home in a spare closet or in your backyard, it is important to understand your state's medical marijuana regulations to avoid getting cited for breaking the law. Currently, Oklahoma has legalized medical cannabis use, not recreational cannabis use.
In 2018, Oklahoma voters approved a measure to legalize medical cannabis use. Oklahoma does not have a specific list of qualifying conditions for its medical program. Adults must get authorization from a board-certified physician to use medical cannabis.
Oklahoma’s medical cannabis program is overseen by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). Refer to the OMMA website for more information about growing cannabis in your home.
Requirements for Medical Marijuana Patients in Oklahoma
- Must be 18 years of age or older; minor patients must meet additional requirements
- $100 fee ($20 reduced fee for patients on Medicaid (SoonerCare), Medicare enrollment, or status as a 100% disabled veteran)
- Patient-physician recommendation
- Completed patient application with all required forms
Under Oklahoma's current medical cannabis laws, registered patients and caregivers can possess up to 1 ounce of concentrate and 72 ounces of edible products. Adult patients can possess up to 3 ounces of flower on their person and up to 8 ounces of flower at their home. Minor patients are not allowed to buy, consume, or possess smokable cannabis products.
Home Cultivation in Oklahoma
Registered patients and caregivers can grow up to six mature plants and six immature plants in their homes. Caregivers can grow cannabis for up to five medical cannabis patients. Mature plants refer to plants that are in their flowering stage. Immature plants refer to seedlings or plants in their vegetative growth stage.
Commercial Cultivation in Oklahoma
There is unlimited availability of business licenses in Oklahoma's robust medical cannabis market, including grower’s licenses. Each license costs $2,500.
In addition, cannabis growers and other cannabis businesses have the option of becoming vertically integrated and obtaining additional licenses, including processor and dispensary business licenses.
Requirements to obtain an Oklahoma business license:
- Applicant must be 25 years or older
- Applicants must be residents of Oklahoma
- 75% of the owners should be Oklahoma residents
- Applicants must undergo a background check
- Business licenses are renewed annually
Only registered cannabis patients and caregivers, and licensed businesses can possess and grow cannabis for medical use. For non-medical users, possession of any amount is a misdemeanor offense (for first and second offenses). Possession charges on a third or subsequent offense is a felony. Cultivation of any amount is a felony.
Where Can You Grow Medical Marijuana in Oklahoma?
Registered medical marijuana patients and caregivers must understand the state, county, and city regulations for at-home cannabis cultivation. For instance, medical cannabis must be grown on your property. If growing medical cannabis on someone else’s property, you must have written permission from the owner to grow there legally.
Cannabis gardens must be away from public view. Medical marijuana gardens should not be visible from an adjacent street or property.
Can You Grow Medical Cannabis Outdoors in Oklahoma?
Under the state's current cannabis laws, outdoor cannabis cultivation for medical marijuana patients is not explicitly prohibited. However, registered medical patients should still follow the state's home cultivation rules to keep their gardens hidden from public view.
Can Commercial Growers Grow Medical Cannabis Outdoors?
There is only one type of commercial cannabis grower’s license in Oklahoma. Most city ordinances require commercial cannabis cultivation to occur on a commercial or industrial property, not a residential property.
However, some cannabis growers who live in rural locations or outside of a municipality’s jurisdiction may obtain a commercial growing license if the local laws allow commercial cannabis cultivation on that type of property.
For more information on how to start a medical marijuana business in Oklahoma, read our blog post resource.
Learn How to Grow Cannabis at Home with Online Training
Are you ready to learn how to grow medical marijuana at home? Enroll in Cannabis Training University’s online marijuana college to gain a deeper insight into the latest cannabis cultivation techniques.