Skip to main content

In Oregon, the bill for recreational marijuana was passed as Measure 91. With the approval of this legislation, recreational marijuana dispensaries are opening up for business. However, you must be an adult at the age of 21 years of age or older in order to buy or possess cannabis. You also have to meet the same requirement if you are a medical cannabis patient. Let us take a look at what is required for marijuana possession.

Marijuana Possession

In the state of Oregon, the laws governing marijuana possession are not the same for public and private use. This includes specific cannabis products such as edibles. This forces smokers to follow the law when they smoke weed at home and in public. You must have a valid ID to prove your age, if you are away from your home. If you meet the legal age of 21 and you find yourself possessing weed in a public space, you can have no more than:

  • An ounce of usable weed or dried flower
  • An ounce of marijuana extracts or concentrates

Marijuana concentrates have to be bought from a licensed cannabis retail store. Possessing concentrates made at home are still illegal.

  • Sixteen ounces of marijuana edibles, but they have to be in solid form such as brownies
  • Seventy two ounces of liquid marijuana products such as tinctures
  • Ten marijuana seeds
  • Four immature marijuana plants

Your Residence

If you meet the legal age requirement and you possess weed while in your own residence, you are allowed eight ounces of dried flower or usable marijuana. The other restrictions on possession are the same as for possession while in the public. If you are a tenant, though, the landlord has the right to decide whether to allow possession and cultivation on the property. So, make sure you check with the landlord first.

Purchasing Restrictions

There are purchasing restrictions as it relates to recreational marijuana in the state of Oregon. As long as you meet the age requirement of 21 years or older and you can prove it with a valid photo ID, then you can buy various kinds of related marijuana products including seeds, edibles, flower, buds and concentrates. There are restrictions, though on the amounts that you can purchase. You can only buy:

FREE E-BOOK

Learn how to cash in on the Green Rush!

  • An ounce of dried flower or usable marijuana
  • Four ounces of dried flower or usable marijuana, if you are a licensed caregiver or cardholder
  • Five grams of marijuana extracts and concentrates
  • Sixteen ounces of marijuana edibles, but it has to be in solid form
  • Seventy two ounces of marijuana produces that has to be in liquid form
  • Ten marijuana seeds
  • Four immature marijuana plants

Store Hours

According to the newly approved bill, Measure 91, marijuana dispensary retailers cannot dispense products to 21 year old or older adults before 7AM or after 10PM. Before going to the dispensary, it is important to find out the hours of operation.

Marijuana Consumption

It is illegal in the state of Oregon to smoke weed in any public space. It does not matter if you are using a vape pen or not. You are only allowed to do so in the comfort of your own home or on a private property. That means, you are not allowed to smoke pot in a bar, public restroom, neighborhood park, bus, federal land or airplane. If you are caught, you can face jail time or monetary penalty.

There are over 300,000 jobs in the cannabis industry. CTU trained me for one of them!

marijuana extract course - Johanna Rose
Makes $24.50 @ THC +

There are certain cities in the state of Oregon that ban recreational marijuana stores. Some of those cities are Long Creek, Gaston, Canyon City Aumsville, Harrisburg, Wilsonville and Richland; just to name a few. If you want to learn more about recreational marijuana in Oregon, visit the Cannabis Training University's online cannabis classes.