Cannabis Laws Maine
Cannabis laws are in place to monitor the marijuana trade industry. The sale, possession and manufacturing of cannabis have to be controlled and regulated by the cannabis laws in the legalized states throughout the United States. In the state of Maine, cannabis is placed in a Schedule Z category because it is still considered to be a dangerous substance, even though not more than other substances. For that reason, the cannabis laws in the state of Maine allow limited use of medical marijuana. Let’s explore Cannabis Laws Maine.
In terms of primary caregivers, the cannabis laws in the state of Maine determine these persons as people who provide care to registered medical cannabis patients. The primary caregiver in Maine has to be 21 years of age or older. If you want to be a caregiver, you cannot have a prior convicted drug offense or this will disqualify you. As a medical cannabis patient, you can choose up to two primary caregivers, but only one caregiver is permitted to cultivate cannabis for you.
In the state of Maine as other states, there are certain health conditions that allow for medical cannabis. These include:
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- HIV or AIDS
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Wasting syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Chronic pain
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
Possessing and Selling Marijuana in Maine
In the state of Maine, possessing and selling marijuana is considered a crime. There are penalties associated with this, but it depends on the amount of marijuana that you possess. The more marijuana that you have on your possession, it is the more the penalty. In addition, if you possess more than two and a half ounces of marijuana and it can be proven that you are trying to sell it, you could be in violation of the cannabis laws in Maine. Here are some of the penalties to bear in mind:
- Two and a half ounces is punishable by law. You could be charge a fine of up to $600.
- For up to eight ounces, the punishment is up to $1,000 in fines and as much as 6 months in jail
- For up to a pound of marijuana, the punishment is $2,000 in fines and up to a year in jail
- Up to twenty pounds of weed, you would pay $5,000 in fines and a possible five year prison sentence
- Any marijuana possession more than twenty pounds, the fine is $20,000 and a possible ten year prison sentence.
Marijuana Cultivation in Maine
In the state of Maine, marijuana cultivation is illegal in certain situations and penalties do vary, depending on how much is illegally being cultivated. Here is an idea of what to expect:
- If you cultivate as much as five plants, the punishment is a thousand dollars in fine and as much as six months spent in jail
- For up to a hundred plants cultivated, the cannabis laws will determine a punishment of $2,000 in fines and up to a year in jail
- For up to five hundred plants being cultivated, the punishment is $5,000 in fines and as much as five years spent in prison
- For more than five hundred marijuana plants, the fine is $20,000 and as much as ten years spent in prison.
For marijuana cultivation, possession or sale, the penalties increase, depending on certain aggravating factors according to the cannabis laws in Maine:
- Selling cannabis to a minor
- In addition to the marijuana possession, the offender also possesses a gun
- The offender solicits the help of a minor
- The offense occurs within a hundred feet of a drug free zone or educational institution
- The offender has more than one convictions related to marijuana cultivation, sale or possession
If the offender is convicted, the judge may order the person’s driver’s license to be revoked or suspended. If you want to learn more about the cannabis laws in Maine, visit the Cannabis Training University today.
Cannabis laws in Maine. Maine cannabis laws. Cannabis laws Maine.
Image credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/evangranowitz/11384809844/